And then Bob fell from the sky….

My friend Bob is 82 years old and is working on a historical fiction novel. His first book was about the history of Silicon Valley (when it was still the Valley of Heart’s Delight), and I helped him to edit it. We met up a few weeks ago at Mission City Roasting Company to talk about self-publishing and finding him an editor. (In fact, a former student of mine is now working for him!) 

Bob went to high school with my dad, and about 30 of these alumni get together the first Tuesday of every month for breakfast. Bob’s right hand is curled with arthritis, but he knows his way around the computer quite well. 

As we finished up our coffee (okay, I was actually drinking an Odwalla something), Bob asked about my latest project. “Oh, I’m writing a walking guide to Venice based on the life of Casanova. It’s nearly done, but I can’t figure out what I’m going to do about maps,” I told him.

“Do you know what I did for a living for 40 years?” Bob asked.

Wait for it.

“I was a map maker.”

The clouds parted and the sun shone. Norma would say there’s no such thing as the universe providing us the things we need when we need them. Maybe it’s just a coincidence, or maybe it’s because I like people and know many of them. But come on, something aligned here, right? 

So Bob has generously agreed to make my maps. He has come up with a fabulous design. Now I’m one step closer to publication-ready. Just waiting for the publisher to fall from the sky next….

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Casanova. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And then Bob fell from the sky….

  1. Nancy Schwalen says:

    Serendipity!!

Leave a Reply

