Quote of the Day

Lots of people have asked me recently if I’ve seen images of the acqua alta. Pretty crazy, seeing people swimming in the Piazza San Marco! Here’s what one Venice lover had to say about the “sinking city”:

“Despite the evidence of her sinking, I say her very existence as a proud refusal to die.  I concentrated not on the dead tips of her body with their decomposing remains, but on the miracle of the continued life of the bits of the great skeleton that still lived.” (Lisa St. Aubin de Teran, Author of Venice: The Four Seasons)

One month from today I’ll be getting on a plane to fly to my favorite place!

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Venice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quote of the Day

  1. biankonera says:

    Id say Venice is more alive than most cities in the world have ever been or ever will be. Or maybe I just see her through different eyes.

  2. NAncy Schwalen says:

    And I’ll bet you will be trying out all of your walks. I am looking forward to your posts and pictures.

Leave a Reply

