Random Venice Journal Entry #1

I’ve decided to begin a sporadic series. Every now and then I’ll dip into my journals and type up something about Venice. Here’s installment #1. 

7/4/02

A gondola bit me today, at Danieli. I had my hand on the railing and it reared forward and nipped my finger.

I smashed a zanzara against the wall this morning with my shoe and it left a smear of my blood.

Later I found Stefano at S. Maria Formosa and we visited for a long while. There were no gondola customers. He was telling me about all the women in low rise pants with their thongs showing. “It is not my fault,” he said. “I look. It is part of my job.”

Gondoliers.

It turns out that Donna Leon lives above Paolo! In her books, when she uses the names Paolo and Maria, it refers to him and his family members.

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Gondolas, Venice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Venice Journal Entry #1

  1. Nancy says:

    So fun to read about Donna Leon’s use of your friends’ names. I’ve read most of her books – may have to go reread them to look for the names again.

Leave a Reply

