How to Save Venice??

I need  your input.

Since 2003, when I published Free Gondola Ride, I have given fifty cents of every book sale to Save Venice, Inc. I wanted my book about Venice to give back somehow to the city I love. When I first started doing this, I wrote them a letter explaining what I was doing. I got a generic form letter as a reply. When I made a website and added a link to Save Venice, they asked that the link be removed. Then I read The City of Falling Angels by John Berendt where he uncovers some of Save Venice’s questionable practices. But I sent them my little contribution anyway. Granted, there have been some years when book sales were pretty low, and my donation to Save Venice didn’t amount to much. I usually rounded up to make it look better.

With the publication of Seductive Venice this time last year, I didn’t pledge to give fifty cents of every sale to Save Venice. They didn’t seem to care that I didn’t love them in the same way any more, though they still send me their glossy magazine-like brochure showing very wealthy people in tuxes and ball gowns enjoying themselves in lavish palaces.

But I like to give back to Venice. Here’s where you come in. Can you suggest an alternate organization that I should donate to instead? Tell me what you know about them.

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Venice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to Save Venice??

  1. Nancy Schwalen says:

    I wish I knew. Let us know what you find out.

  2. I got some helpful responses to this post on Facebook, where I also run this blog. I’ve decided to go with Venice in Peril and sent in a donation yesterday. Venice in Peril is a British organization that preserves and restores Venetian buildings and artwork while also working with the city and other organizations to improve root causes of problems. Apparently one of the original founders lives near San Trovaso and is a wonderful, generous, meticulous person above reproach. This year they get my donation. Thanks for the input!

  3. My blog post garnered a response from the Executive Director at Save Venice Inc. She was dismayed that I had received a negative impression of them and has worked to make things better. She stressed that all contributions are appreciated, no matter what size. It was so nice to receive a personalized response!

Leave a Reply

