Love, Lust, and Casanova

That’s in the headline of this article in the Santa Clara Weekly after my book talk at Studio Bongiorno, promoting my book Seductive Venice:

http://www.santaclaraweekly.com/2014/Issue-6/author_talks_love_lust_and_casanova_at_book_talk.html

To celebrate Valentine’s Day, I spoke only about Casanova the loverman. You know–losing his virginity, the affair with the two nuns, the most famous stories that sealed his reputation. I usually try to bust these stereotypes and tell a broader range of stories about Casanova the author, translator, theater manager, musician, traveler, and so on. But it was kind of fun to focus only on these stories, (even though my mom and her church friends were sitting in the front row!). (And they loved it!)

Thanks go to Phil Bongiorno for offering his fabulous studio for the event and to Melissa McKenzie for her wonderful article. And of course thanks to the guy in the photo with me–my partner RJ–for his continual support.

By the way, I had a great question from Forrest in the audience: When did the name Casanova become the noun casanova? I’ve sent the question out to a couple Casanovists I know, and I’ll report back to you when I get a little time to write up my findings.

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Casanova, Venice, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

