Hot off the Presses!

Get your copy now!

My latest book, A Beautiful Woman in Venice, arrived today on my back porch!

IMG_4035

That’s me sitting on 15 boxes of them.

Today is its official birthday! After roughly two years of work, 250 sources, and boatloads of help from a legion of friends, A Beautiful Woman in Venice is ready for YOU, its readers.

Dip into 28 chapters on over 35 Venetian women spanning seven centuries. From poets Veronica Franco and Gaspara Stampa, to orators like Cassandra Fedele, regatta winner Maria Boscola, and dogaressa Maria Morosini Grimani, you’ll read a wide variety of stories  about their remarkable lives. Women often changed history or saved lives, like Giustina Rossi who helped quell a rebellion to Giovanna whose painting kept the Black Death at bay, plus a myriad of nuns and laywomen who founded institutions to care for orphans, widows, and the destitute.

A whole host of writers are represented here: from Arcangela Tarabotti, Modesta Pozzo, and Lucrezia Marinella, some of the earliest proto-feminists anywhere, to Elisabetta Caminer Turra, Luisa Bergalli Gozzi, Isabella Teotochi Albrizzi, Giustina Renier Michiel, and Giustiniana Wynne, who broke boundaries for women authors and paved the way for more to come. Besides authors were composers Barbara Strozzi and Antonia Bembo. Venice has recognized some of its talented daughters, such as Rosalba Carriera, the painter, and Cencia Scarpariola, the lace maker, with plaques and streets, and of course the city has honored Elena Cornaro Piscopia, the first woman in the world to earn a university degree.

A Beautiful Woman in Venice honors more than just those mentioned here. Read the book to discover which woman hid steaming polenta in her bosom, who was friends with Lord Byron, who painted the Barovier wedding cup, who is depicted in Titian’s famous Venus of Urbino, and who had 37 violin concertos written for her by Antonio Vivaldi.

So far the book is only available from me (not Amazon yet), so to get one you can order through the new website: http://kathleenanngonzalez.wix.com/beautifulwoman

ABWIV-cover

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Venice, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Hot off the Presses!

  1. Rosemary Wilmot says:

    This sounds wonderful, when will I be able to get it in the UK ?? Or will it be available in Venice ? Its thanks to you that I became involved In Manuel Carrions Spying on history of Casanova !!

    • Hi Rosemary, The book is in press in Venice right now and should be out there in July. If you want one sooner, I can mail it to you and let you know the shipping cost. Just contact me at kathleenanngonzalez at yahoo.com to work out details. I’m happy to hear that you are involved in Manuel’s project! It’s such a unique look at Casanova’s legacy. Manuel has a show opening in Venice this weekend.

      • Rosemary Wilmot says:

        I am in Venice from 26th June to the 4th July do you know if it will be out then? I take it you are following Manuel on Facebook ?

        Thanks Rosemary

      • Shoot, I’ll just miss meeting you. I arrive July 13. My publisher (Giovanni DiStefano at Supernova Edizione) has said that he plans to have the book done by July, though he’s not sure when it will be in the stores.
        Yes, I follow Manuel on fb, so I saw the post about his upcoming show of new works!

      • Rosemary Wilmot says:

        Oh what a pain I would love to have met you. I am as crazy about Casanova as you are. Do you know Michelle Lovric the writer ? Rosemary

      • I know Lovric’s books, though I’ve never met her. I love her writing, though!

      • Rosemary Wilmot says:

        Ok look forward to hearing about the cost of the book with postage to the UK.

        I got Michelle Lovric to do a canvas for Manuels Casanova project, she is a really lovely lady. Her books are fabulous

      • Rosemary Wilmot says:

        Also, I would be interested in the book can you check how much the postage would be to the UK ? Thanks Rosemary

      • I’ll go to the post office this weekend and find out. 🙂

    • Hi Rosemary,
      I found a less expensive postal option, just $7 to ship to the UK. So the total, book plus postage, would be $22 US. You can bypass the website and just transfer the funds to my PayPal account if you’re interested. Email me at freegondolaride at yahoo.com if you’re interested. Thank you for your interest!
      Yours,
      Kathy

      • Rosemary Wilmot says:

        Hi There, Book safely received. Thank you so much.
        I will take it to Venice to read there, the perfect setting !!
        Take Care
        Rosemary x

  2. Congratulations on your new book, Kathleen!

  3. Krissy Gibbs says:

    I assume it is ok with you if we take that url and advertise for you else-net? 🙂 Seems polite to ask first.

    Congratulations Kathy! Yay!!!

  4. Congratulations Kathleen!!! I’ll look forward to getting a copy soon… probably before Zoe and I go over in June!!!

  5. Nancy Schwalen says:

    I am looking forward to this one too.

Leave a Reply

