Gondola Stuff: Ven-Ice

“Say arrivederci to warm drinks!”

IMG_9669

That’s what it says on the package to Ven-Ice, my new ice cube maker that I got in Venice this summer.

Also on the packaging: “What’s more romantic than gliding down a Venetian canal? How about gliding down that canal with a frosty cold cocktail? Our charming Ven-Ice icetray even includes a drink stirring plastic oar!”

IMG_9670

How have I lived without this in my life? I have a small but fun collection of gondolas I’ve bought over the years (see future blog posts for photos), and this is a fun new addition. But more importantly, I can have icy cold spritz in my own home! Stirred with a traditional (plastic) oar (that isn’t actually shaped like a Venetian oar, but 99% of the world won’t see that difference). Most importantly, my Veni-Ice tray will help me live vicariously in Venice every time I sip my cold drink in California. I’m only sad that the gondola doesn’t have a silver ferro on the front. I guess I’d better get out my silver nail polish and give it a paint job!

IMG_9671

 

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Gondolas, Venice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gondola Stuff: Ven-Ice

  1. Cecelia Pierotti says:

    WHERE in Venice did you buy that?…..I’ve been several times and never seen one of these…..very special!!! šŸ™‚

  2. There’s a shop on the Strada Nova, but I don’t know the name of it. It has wonderful journals and prints, handmade jewelry, and lots of kitschy goodies like this. Anyone out there know the name? It’s not Pylones, the French knick knack shop. I’ll try to see if I can find a receipt or something.

  3. Yvonne says:

    I know the shop you mean, but can’t recall the name, either.

    That’s kitsch, but kute! šŸ™‚

  4. Nancy Schwalen says:

    How fun!

Leave a Reply

