New Book About Our Man C!

Laurence Bergreen’s new book about Casanova is finally available! It’s titled Casanova: The World of a Seductive Genius (just a little reminiscent of my own title, Seductive Venice: In Casanova’s Footsteps.) I got my copy a couple days ago and have dived right in. Looks like he organizes the information around the women in Casanova’s life, reminiscent of Judith Summer’s book Casanova’s Women. The book is also divided into the first half of C’s life, primarily in Venice, and the second half, primarily outside Venice. Bergreen quotes liberally from Casanova’s memoirs–always a good choice considering that C could turn a phrase with wit and erudition.

The New York Times ran this review, which is a bit more of a summary of C’s life than it is a review of Bergreen’s book:

Or click on this link if you’re viewing this on your phone:

Book review

I met Laurence almost exactly a year ago at the Casanova conference at UCLA. (In fact, you can see my blog post from then, showing how Laurence signed his Marco Polo book for me.) And here’s some happy news: My book appears in Bergen’s bibliography! He had contacted me a few years ago and used my research. I also got a brief mention on his acknowledgements page. I’m the last name in the next-to-last paragraph. Woohoo! I may be a small fry writer, but it turns out that my research has been useful!

img_0413

img_0411

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Casanova, Venice, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Book About Our Man C!

  1. Nancy Schwalen says:

    I saw this review and wondered if you’d seen it. silly me. I know you have many friends who would make sure you had.

Leave a Reply

