It’s Always Marchini Time!

IMG_1448

One of my favorite things to do in Venice these days is eat pastries! In the past for me it was only gelato gelato gelato gelato. But I have discovered these pasticcerie that make me incredibly happy.

Please excuse me for writing about things that will make you salivate, but just remembering the fantastic pastries I had there makes me giddy all over again.

th

So banal from the outside…

Marchini Time, in Campo San Luca, was on my (almost) daily walking path on my latest trip, so I stopped in there 3 of the 6 days I was in Venice. The first day I ordered an espresso deka (that’s decaf–I’m a caffeine wimp) and a little eclair filled with chocolate and topped with chocolate. I’m surprised I didn’t fall to the marble floor in a swoon. I kept rolling my eyes in bliss, hoping the baristi wouldn’t notice or call an ambulance. Little sips of  bitter coffee interspersed with little bites of gooey dark chocolate, oh my, I can’t write about it any more right now….

The next time I went in, I ordered this baby:

IMG_1447

Zabaglione custard filled this little eclair. It’s an art to eat these without gooing all over your fingers or the counter (or the floor). I’ll admit that some of the crumbled nuts did escape my clutches.

My last time in, I went back to chocolate and got this one:

IMG_1446

Crunchy sprinkles and gooey insides–a match made to please. A little bitter lemon soda over ice counteracts the rich chocolate just right.

And one last great thing about Marchini Time–the price. This little eclair is a whopping 1.50 euros, with an espresso adding one more euro. In some California pastry shops, the combo would cost you $10. We won’t discuss the calorie count here. That would be to deface the glory of the place. Suffice it to say that I walk many miles while in Venice, and one itty bitty eclair a day will not make a difference.

I’m kind of stuck on Marchini Time right now. I’ve tried out a few other pastry shops but am not satiated yet with Marchini Time, so for now that’s my go to spot. What are your favorites? Write in and make us jealous of your pastry pleasures!

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Venice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Always Marchini Time!

  1. Rita Bottoms says:

    Have you tried Bar Pasticceria Rizzardini in San Polo for cream filled bigne and other delights. It’s hard to resist!

  2. Cecelia Pierotti says:

    I’m a big fan of Tonolo in San Pantalon…..and also Colussi near Campo San Barnaba….though they are both closed for ferie at the moment, I will make up for it when they reopen!!!

Leave a Reply

