Celebrating Cinquecento

No, not the century, but my 500th blog post!

Raise your spritz in a toast!

I started this blog in April 2012, and today you are reading my five hundredth posting. Should I name the 500 things I most love about Venice? The 500 most interesting Venetians? What was happening 500 years ago in Venice? Or 500 ways Casanova tried to seduce women?

Instead, I decided to share facts about YOU, my lovely readers, who keep me going. I could blather on here about my love for Venice, fun gondolier stories, or fascinating Casanova facts, but hey, that’s what I do every day! So today I will post facts about you.

At the time of this writing, 22,348 people have visited this site, racking up 49,585 views. I know, in the big scheme of modern social media, those numbers are pretty small. Kim Kardashian would laugh at my excitement. But I am not Kim Kardashian. I am thrilled by these numbers and humbled that so many people would bother to look at, and maybe even actually read, my posts.

You come from all over the world. I’m in the United States, so it’s little surprise that most of my views are from here. But big thanks go out to folks in Italy for their many views, and my readers across the pond in Great Britain. Apparently most of Belgium is checking out SeductiveVenice, followed by Australia, Canada, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and Spain. And though they don’t come up on the analytics, I sometimes see hits from India, Greece, Turkey, Lithuania, Russia, Brazil, Isle of Man, Zimbabwe, Jordan, Iceland, Algeria, Pakistan, and a whole host of other countries I want to visit.

In the month of May 2012, only 131 people looked at my blog. But in July 2014 I cleared 1,000 views for the first time, and July, August, and September of this year have all topped that, with August reaching 1.8k views. Monday is the most popular day and 12 p.m. the most popular time to check out the site. My day with the most views ever was August 1, 2017.

A door people apparently just want to sneak into

What are people reading? The most popular blog posts by far have been “Sneaking into Casanova’s House” on January 17, 2013 (with a reprise on March 31, 2014) and “Casanova’s Bambini” on October 28, 2012. Go back and check them out if you missed them the first time. But the search term that garnered the most looks was “black buttocks.” Umm, I don’t remember what that was about….I suppose I should look it up. What was I thinking? I guess you’ll have to read the June 2, 2013 post to find out.

White buttocks, not black.

Looking for black buttocks.

No black buttocks here.

…but I spy a black buttocks here….

Some of you are clicking through to other sites and writers such as becomingitalianwordbyword.type, italymagazine.com, veneziablog.blogspot.co, and abeautifulwomaninvenice.com. Or you’re apparently checking out my other websites or YouTube channel or visiting smashwords.com to buy my ebook. Thanks! This blog is but one small member of a huge community of Venetophiles and Casanovists. It’s been my great pleasure to connect with so many of you.

Huge kudos and thanks go to SuperCommenter Nancy, who has commented 270 times! She is followed by Yvonne, Mr. DrinkWineToday, Albert, Cecelia, and Liz at DreamDiscoverItalia. Jealous of them for getting mentioned here? Post more comments and you’ll be included in the next shout-out! Thank you to all who comment, letting me know that someone exists out there. Keep ’em coming!

Or grazie, merci, tak, ahsante sana, danke, mahalo, arigato, dhanyavaad, and efharisto.

 

About seductivevenice

Teacher, writer, traveler, dancer, reader, photographer, gardener.
This entry was posted in Venice, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Celebrating Cinquecento

  1. Jane Fleming says:

    And don’t forget little old Guernsey! Love the blog Kathy, it’s so informative and well-researched. There’s always something new to learn about la bella Venzia!

  2. Cecelia Pierotti says:

    Had no idea I was a commenter of some repute 🤔 Guess I’ll have to get to work to catch up to 270!!!! But congratulations are certainly in order and a big “keep it up”!!! Che brava!!!!

  3. Nancy Schwalen says:

    I guess I win the “Always Has Something to Say” ribbon. Ha ha ha ha

Leave a Reply

